As rideshare services like Uber and Lyft become more and more popular in areas like Bradenton, the risk of being involved in an accident increases as well. If you were hurt by an Uber driver or were injured while riding in an Uber, that matter is serious. The at-fault party may be responsible for serious injuries and property damage. Florida’s no-fault legislation means victims refer to their own insurance for the initial $10,000 in benefits for PIP. However, the injuries or damage may extend beyond the PIP benefits. If there is a crash, consider these tips from an auto accident lawyer.
Seek Medical Help in Bradenton
After a collision in Bradenton, it’s important to seek substantial medical treatment from a professional to address the injuries and pain the accident left you with. In Florida, you must seek medical treatment within 14 days of the incident in order to use PIP benefits. Waiting means you may lose your coverage as well as your credibility when making a claim later on.
File a Claim with Insurance
It is best to speak with your auto accident lawyer in Bradenton when filing a claim to ensure that you fill out the necessary information completely. You may want to have the in-person consultation with your attorney before taking this step to prepare yourself fully.
Florida’s statute of limitations requires personal injury victims to file claims within four years of the date of the incident.
Consult with Your Auto Accident Lawyer
Once you have sought medical care and filed a claim, meet with your auto accident lawyer in person to discuss your case. As a professional with experience, your attorney will be able to determine whether the at-fault driver had enough bodily injury insurance. Bodily injury insurance is the insurance you would file a claim for crash-related injuries with.
Florida’s Ridesharing Laws
In 2017, Florida legislators signed Florida Statute § 627.748 into action, which outlines insurance requirements for ridesharing services. The statute requires Uber and Lyft drivers to carry $1 million in coverage for liability. This covers benefits for property damage, personal injuries, and death. Even when off duty, rideshare drivers must keep $50,000 in coverage for their ridesharing vehicles.
While the $1 million and $50,000 coverage benefits are the minimum coverage, an auto accident lawyer in Bradenton may be able to determine if the coverage level was different at the time of operation.
Rely on the Auto Accident Attorneys at K LAW, PLLC
Every accident and personal injury case in the Bradenton area is different, and no two cases should be treated the same. Therefore, you need personal attention and experienced professionals on your side to help you make a claim. After an Uber or Lyft injury, call an auto accident lawyer at K LAW, PLLC. Our clients trust us to deliver results and help them get back to their normal life. To schedule a free consultation, call us today at (941) 242-5550 or contact us online.